Kia oil and fluids

What oil does a Kia take?

The oil each Kia engine is approved for and how much an oil and filter change takes, for 15 engines — from Kia's own handbooks where they are published, each with its source. Choose your engine above for the exact match, or find it in the list below.

Free · no signup · the engine size is in the handbook and usually on the back of the car

By engine

1.0 MPi (Kappa / Smartstream G1.0) · 2011–2026

Engine oil
C5 · API Latest (ILSAC Latest) · 0W-20(2017–2020 · Picanto (JA) 1.0 MPI / 1.0 FFV)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Outside the Middle East/N. Africa: 'API Latest (ILSAC Latest) or ACEA C5'. Chart (B, non-Middle-East): 0W-20, with 10W-30/15W-40/20W-50 for warm climates.
Engine oil
API SN PLUS / SP or ILSAC GF-6 · 0W-20(2020 on · Picanto (JA) Smartstream G1.0)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Chart: 0W-20 only (non-Middle-East).
Oil capacity
3 litres(Picanto (JA) 1.0 MPI)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
Oil capacity
3.1 litres(Picanto (JA) Smartstream G1.0)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
Coolant
Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
Brake fluid
DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.

Fitted to: Picanto, Rio, Stonic

1.0 T-GDi (Kappa / Smartstream G1.0 T-GDi) · 2015–2026

Engine oil
A5 · 5W-30(2015–2018 · cee'd (JD facelift))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook: 'ACEA A5 or above / 5W-30'.
Engine oil
A5/B5 · 5W-30(2017–2020 · Rio (YB), Stonic)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Table: ACEA A5/B5 for the 1.0L T-GDI (no market split). Rio chart: 5W-30 only.
Engine oil
C2 · API SN · 0W-30(2018–2020 · Ceed / ProCeed / XCeed (CD, 19MY))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Table: 'API SN, ACEA C2' for markets other than India/Middle East/N. Africa/Central & South America (i.e. Europe); 'ACEA A5/B5' elsewhere. Chart for Kappa 1.0/1.4 T-GDI: 0W-30, 5W-30 for all countries.
Engine oil
API SN PLUS / SP or ILSAC GF-6 · 0W-20(2020 on · Smartstream G1.0 T-GDi (+MHEV): Ceed / XCeed (CD facelift), Picanto (JA))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Full synthetic required outside the Middle East (there: SAE 5W-30, ACEA A5/B5). If unavailable, 'SAE 0W-20 grade synthetic oil can be used'.
Oil capacity
3.6 litres
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter. 3.6 l in every Kia handbook consulted (cee'd JD, Rio YB, Stonic, Ceed CD 19MY and 2021-22, Picanto JA).
Coolant
Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
Brake fluid
DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.

Fitted to: Picanto, Rio, Stonic, Ceed, ProCeed, XCeed, Soul

1.25 MPi (Kappa / Smartstream G1.2) · 2011–2023

Engine oil
C2 · API SN · 0W-20(2017–2020 · Rio (YB), Stonic 1.2L)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Outside India/Middle East/N. Africa/C&S America: 'API SN, ACEA C2'. Rio chart (Europe): 0W-20, 0W-30, 5W-20, 5W-30, footnote recommends SAE 0W-20 (API SN, ACEA C2).
Engine oil
C5 · API Latest (ILSAC Latest) · 0W-20(2017–2020 · Picanto (JA) 1.2 MPI)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Outside the Middle East/N. Africa: 'API Latest (ILSAC Latest) or ACEA C5'; chart 0W-20.
Engine oil
API SN PLUS / SP or ILSAC GF-6 · 0W-20(2020 on · Picanto (JA) Smartstream G1.2)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Chart: 0W-20 only. Hyundai's Smartstream G1.2 is 1,197 cc; the handbook does not state this engine's capacity.
Oil capacity
3.5 litres(Rio (YB), Stonic, Picanto (JA) 1.2 MPI)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
Oil capacity
3.4 litres(Picanto (JA) Smartstream G1.2)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
Coolant
Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
Brake fluid
DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.

Fitted to: Picanto, Rio, Stonic, Venga

1.4 T-GDi (Kappa) · 2018–2022

Engine oil
C2 · API SN · 0W-30(2018–2020 · Ceed / ProCeed / XCeed (CD, 19MY))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Europe: 'API SN, ACEA C2' (ACEA A5/B5 for India/Middle East/N. Africa/C&S America). Chart for Kappa 1.0/1.4 T-GDI: 0W-30, 5W-30 for all countries.
Oil capacity
4.2 litres(Ceed (CD))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
Coolant
Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
Brake fluid
DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.

Fitted to: Ceed, ProCeed, XCeed, Stonic

1.5 T-GDi (Smartstream G1.5 T-GDi) · 2020–2026

Engine oil
API SN PLUS / SP or ILSAC GF-6 · 0W-20(2021 on · Ceed / ProCeed / XCeed (CD facelift) incl. MHEV)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Full synthetic required (Middle East: SAE 5W-30, ACEA A5/B5).
Oil capacity
4.2 litres(Ceed (CD))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
Coolant
Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
Brake fluid
DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.

Fitted to: Ceed, ProCeed, XCeed, Sportage

1.6 CRDi (Smartstream D1.6) · 2018–2024

Engine oil
C5 / C2 / C3 · 0W-20(2018–2024 · Ceed / ProCeed / XCeed (CD) incl. MHEV, Optima (JF), Stonic)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Every Kia table: 'ACEA C5 or C2 or C3'. Charts: 0W-20, 0W-30, 5W-30/40 (and 10W-30/40) by temperature.
Oil capacity
4.4 litres
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter. 4.4 l in the Ceed CD (19MY and 2021-22), Optima JF and Stonic handbooks.
Coolant
Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
Brake fluid
DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.

Fitted to: Ceed, ProCeed, XCeed, Sportage, Stonic, Optima

1.6 CRDi (U-II) · 2008–2018

Engine oil
C2 · 0W-30(2012–2018 · cee'd (JD) U II 1.6 VGT (and 1.4 WGT))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
With DPF: 'ACEA C2 / 0W-30'; without DPF: 'ACEA B4 / 5W-30'. Diesel chart: 0W-30, 5W-30, 10W-30, 15W-40 by temperature.
Engine oil
C3/C2(2014–2019 · Soul (PS) diesel)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
With DPF: ACEA C3 or C2; without DPF: ACEA B4.
Oil capacity
5.3 litres
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter. 5.3 l in both cee'd JD and Soul PS handbooks.
Coolant
Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
Brake fluid
DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.

Fitted to: Ceed, ProCeed, Sportage, Venga, Soul, Carens, Cerato, Stonic

1.6 GDi (Gamma II) · 2011–2021

Engine oil
A5 · 5W-30(2012–2019 · cee'd (JD), Soul (PS), Carens (RP))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
cee'd JD: 'ACEA A5 or above / 5W-30'. Soul PS: 'GDI engine … ACEA A5 or above'. Carens RP: 'For Europe GDI: ACEA A5'. cee'd JD chart (Europe MPI/GDI): 0W-40, 5W-20, 5W-30, 5W-40 — 5W-20 only with a shortened 10,000 km / 6-month oil-change interval on the GDI.
Oil capacity
3.6 litres
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter. 3.6 l in the cee'd JD, Soul PS and Carens RP handbooks.
Coolant
Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
Brake fluid
DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.

Fitted to: Ceed, ProCeed, Sportage, Soul, Rio, Venga, Optima

1.6 GDi hybrid / plug-in hybrid (Kappa 1.6 GDi HEV) · 2016–2026

Engine oil
A5/B5 · API Latest(2016–2022 · Niro (DE) HEV / PHEV)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Table: 'API Latest or ACEA A5/B5'.
Engine oil
A5/B5 · 5W-30(2022 on · Niro (SG2) HEV / PHEV)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Table: 'SAE 5W-30, ACEA A5/B5'; viscosity chart 5W-30.
Oil capacity
3.8 litres
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter. 3.8 l in both Niro DE and Niro SG2 handbooks.
Coolant
Phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant (separate engine and inverter circuits)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Niro DE: engine 5.98 l + inverter 2.43 l (ethylene glycol base). Niro SG2: engine 6.7 l; inverter coolant 'contact an authorised Kia dealer'.
Brake fluid
DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.

Fitted to: Niro HEV, Niro PHEV, XCeed PHEV, Ceed Sportswagon PHEV

1.6 T-GDi (Gamma II) · 2013–2022

Engine oil
A5/B5 · 5W-30(2013–2022 · cee'd GT / pro_cee'd GT (JD), Ceed GT / ProCeed GT (CD), Optima (JF), Soul (PS))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
cee'd JD and Optima JF: Europe 'ACEA A5 or above / 5W-30' (5W-40 outside Europe). Ceed CD 19MY: ACEA A5/B5. Ceed CD 2021-22: 'SAE 5W30, ACEA A5/B5' full synthetic. Soul PS: ACEA A5 or above.
Engine oil
C2/C5(2019–2020 · Soul (SK3) petrol, Europe with GPF)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Soul SK3 handbook: 'Europe with GPF: ACEA C2/C5; Except Europe: ACEA A5/B5'. Viscosity not stated in the table.
Oil capacity
4.5 litres(cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Optima JF, Soul PS/SK3)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
Oil capacity
4 litres(Ceed CD (2021-22 MY))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter. The 2021-22 Ceed CD web manual gives 4.0 L where the 19MY Ceed CD book gave 4.5 l — check the dipstick.
Coolant
Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
Brake fluid
DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.

Fitted to: Ceed GT, ProCeed GT, Sportage (QL), Soul, Optima

1.6 T-GDi (Smartstream G1.6 T-GDi) · 2021–2026

Engine oil
API SN PLUS / SP or ILSAC GF-6 · 0W-20(2022 on · Sportage (NQ5))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Full synthetic required (Middle East/N. Africa: SAE 5W-30, ACEA A5/B5).
Oil capacity
4.8 litres(Sportage (NQ5))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
Coolant
Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
Brake fluid
DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.

Fitted to: Sportage (NQ5), Sorento, Ceed

1.7 CRDi (U-II, D4FD) — Sportage, Carens, Optima — timing chain · 2010–2022

Engine oil
C2/C3(2012–2019 · Optima (JF), Carens (RP))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Optima JF: with DPF 'ACEA C2 or C3', without DPF 'ACEA C3 or C2 or A3/B4'. Carens RP: 'ACEA C2 or C3'. Viscosity charts are images and were not read.
Oil capacity
5.3 litres
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter. 5.3 l in both Optima JF and Carens RP handbooks.
Coolant
Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
Brake fluid
DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.

Fitted to: Sportage III (SL) 1.7 CRDi (2010-2015), Sportage IV (QL) 1.7 CRDi (2015-), Carens IV 1.7 CRDi (2013-), Optima 1.7 CRDi (2012-)

2.0 CRDi (R-family, D4HA) · 2009–2022

Engine oil
C3/C2(2015–2021 · Sportage (QL), Sorento (UM))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
With DPF: 'ACEA C3 or C2'; without DPF: 'ACEA A3 or B4' (QL) / 'ACEA A3/B4' (UM). Viscosity charts in these books are images and were not read.
Oil capacity
7.6 litres(Sportage (QL) 2.0 TCI)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
Oil capacity
6.5 litres(Sorento (UM))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter. Sorento UM row covers R2.0 and R2.2 together.
Coolant
Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
Brake fluid
DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.

Fitted to: Sportage, Sorento, Carens, Optima

2.2 CRDi (R-family, D4HB) · 2009–2020

Engine oil
C3/C2(2015–2020 · Sorento (UM))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
With DPF: ACEA C3 or C2; without DPF: ACEA A3/B4. Viscosity chart is an image and was not read.
Oil capacity
6.5 litres(Sorento (UM))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
Coolant
Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
Brake fluid
DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.

Fitted to: Sorento XM (2009-2015), Sorento UM (2015-2020)

2.2 CRDi (Smartstream D2.2, 2,151 cc) - timing belt · 2020 on

Engine oil
C5 / C2 / C3(2020 on · Sorento (MQ4))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Table: 'ACEA C5, C2 or C3 (Refer to Recommended SAE viscosity number)'. The viscosity chart is an image that could not be retrieved, so no grade is recorded.
Oil capacity
5.6 litres(Sorento (MQ4))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
Coolant
Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
Brake fluid
DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.

Fitted to: Sorento MQ4 (2020-)

Manufacturer-published figures link to the maker's document. "Reported" figures come from a franchised dealer or a parts catalogue and have not been confirmed by the maker. Nothing here has been checked against your car — confirm with the handbook or a franchised dealer quoting the VIN.

Common questions

What oil does a Kia take?

It depends on the engine. Across the 15 Kia engines we hold, the approvals named are C5, A5, A5/B5, C2, C5 / C2 / C3, C3/C2 and others, mostly in 0W-20, 5W-30, 0W-30. Find your engine above, or choose your engine above for the exact match.

How much oil does a Kia take?

It depends on the engine; the figures we hold are listed above with their sources. The owner's handbook gives the oil-change capacity.

Where is the oil specification in a Kia handbook?

Usually in the "Technical data", "Capacities and specifications" or "Engine oil" section near the back, which names the approval code and viscosity, and the oil-change capacity with filter. The figures above link to the handbooks we found them in.

Oil specification and capacity by make