MG oil and fluids
What oil does an MG take?
The oil each MG engine is approved for and how much an oil and filter change takes, for 14 engines — from MG's own handbooks where they are published, each with its source. Choose your engine above for the exact match, or find it in the list below.
Free · no signup · the engine size is in the handbook and usually on the back of the car
By engine
1.0T GDI (G10DT, three-cylinder) · 2017–2022
- Engine oil
- C3 · 5W-30(2017–2019 · ZS 1.0T (MY17 handbook))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- MY17 ZS handbook lists 'C3 5W-30 or C5 0W-20' for the 1.0T-AT.
- Engine oil
- C5 · 0W-20(2017–2019 · ZS 1.0T (MY17 handbook))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Alternative to C3 5W-30 in the same row.
- Engine oil
- C5 · 0W-20(2020–2022 · ZS 1.0T 6MT / 6AT (facelift handbook))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Facelift handbook lists C5 0W-20 only.
- Oil capacity
- 4 litres
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Engine oil (after-sales replacement)' 4.0 L (MY17) / 4 L (facelift, 6MT and 6AT); filter inclusion not stated.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- MG3 MY16 handbook specifies 'DOT 4 (Low Viscosity)'; all later handbooks say DOT 4.
Fitted to: ZS
1.5 GDI (GS62 family) · 2024–2026
- Engine oil
- C5 · API SP · 0W-20(2024 on · MG3 1.5 petrol (MT/CVT), ZS 1.5 petrol (MT/CVT))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbooks: 'use 0W-20 engine oil recommended by SAIC Motor that complies with ACEA C5 and API SP specifications'. Fluids table grade 'C5&SP 0W-20'. The MG3 handbook's coolant row names the non-hybrid engine 'GS64'.
- Oil capacity
- 4 litres
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Engine oil (after-sales replacement), L ... 4' — one figure for every engine in the MG3 and ZS tables; filter inclusion not stated.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- MG3 MY16 handbook specifies 'DOT 4 (Low Viscosity)'; all later handbooks say DOT 4.
Fitted to: MG3, ZS
1.5 Hybrid+ (GS62H, Atkinson cycle) · 2024–2026
- Engine oil
- C5 · API SP · 0W-20(2024 on · MG3 Hybrid+, ZS Hybrid+)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'use 0W-20 engine oil recommended by SAIC Motor that complies with ACEA C5 and API SP specifications'.
- Oil capacity
- 4 litres
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Engine oil (after-sales replacement), L ... 4'; filter inclusion not stated.
- Coolant
- Glycol (OAT)(6.4 litres)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Engine coolant 6.4 L (GS62H); drive-motor coolant 3.4 L
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- MG3 MY16 handbook specifies 'DOT 4 (Low Viscosity)'; all later handbooks say DOT 4.
Fitted to: MG3 Hybrid+, ZS Hybrid+
1.5 VTi-TECH (15S4C) · 2017–2024
- Engine oil
- A5/B5 · 5W-30(2017–2019 · ZS 1.5 (pre-facelift, MY17 handbook))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- MY17 ZS handbook lists 'A5/B5 5W-30 or C5 0W-20' for the 1.5L-MT.
- Engine oil
- C5 · 0W-20(2017–2019 · ZS 1.5 (pre-facelift, MY17 handbook))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Alternative to A5/B5 5W-30 in the same MY17 handbook row.
- Engine oil
- C5 · 0W-20(2020–2024 · ZS 1.5 (facelift handbook))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Facelift ZS handbook lists C5 0W-20 only. Year split follows the handbook editions, not a dated MG change notice.
- Oil capacity
- 4.1 litres(ZS 1.5 MT)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook row is 'Engine oil (after-sales replacement)' — the service refill — but it does not say whether the filter is included. Same 4.1 L in MY17 and facelift handbooks.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- MG3 MY16 handbook specifies 'DOT 4 (Low Viscosity)'; all later handbooks say DOT 4.
Fitted to: MG3, ZS
1.5 VTi-TECH (15S4U) · 2013–2018
- Engine oil
- A1/B1 · 5W-20(2016–2018 · MG3 (MY16 handbook))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook: 'Use engine oil meeting ACEA specification A1/B1'. Fluids table: 'A1/B1 5W-20'. Earlier 2013-2015 MG3 handbook not found; same engine but not verified.
- Oil capacity
- 4.5 litres
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Table says 'Engine oil, l ... 4.5' with no filter/refill qualifier.
Fitted to: MG3
1.5T (15FDE / GS61, second generation) · 2024–2026
- Engine oil
- C5 · API SP · 0W-20(2024 on · HS 1.5T DCT and MT (second generation))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'use 0W-20 engine oil recommended by SAIC Motor that complies with ACEA C5 and API SP specifications'.
- Oil capacity
- 4 litres
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Engine oil (after-sales replacement), L' 4 for 1.5T-DCT and 1.5T-MT; filter inclusion not stated.
- Coolant
- Glycol (OAT)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Engine coolant 7.3 L (DCT) / 6.6 L (MT), plus 3 L water-cooled intercooler circuit
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- MG3 MY16 handbook specifies 'DOT 4 (Low Viscosity)'; all later handbooks say DOT 4.
Fitted to: HS
1.5T GDI (15E4E, first generation) · 2016–2024
- Engine oil
- C5 · 0W-20(2018–2024 · HS 1.5T (6MT and DCT))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- First-generation HS handbook fluids table: 'C5 0W-20'.
- Engine oil
- C3 · 5W-30(2016–2019 · GS 1.5T only)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- GS handbook: 'please use ACEA C3 engine oil or that recommended by the manufacturer'; fluids table grade 'C3 5W-30'; 'in areas of extreme cold, we advise you to use oil of a SAE 0W-30 viscosity'. Differs from the HS — do not apply to HS.
- Oil capacity
- 4 litres(HS)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Engine lubricating oil (after-sales replacement), L ... 4' for 6MT and DCT; filter inclusion not stated.
- Total oil capacity
- 5.5 litres(GS)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- GS table: 'Engine oil (initial assembly) 5.5 l' (in totalLitres) and 'Engine oil (after-sales replacement) 5.0 l' (in unspecifiedLitres — filter inclusion not stated).
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- MG3 MY16 handbook specifies 'DOT 4 (Low Viscosity)'; all later handbooks say DOT 4.
Fitted to: HS, GS
1.5T Plug-in Hybrid (15E4E + EDU, first generation) · 2020–2024
- Engine oil
- C5 · 0W-20(2020–2024 · HS Plug-in Hybrid (first generation))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Fluids table: 'C5 0W-20'. EHS (the same car in other markets) not separately checked.
- Oil capacity
- 4 litres
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Engine lubricating oil (after-sales replacement), L ... 4'; filter inclusion not stated.
- Coolant
- Glycol (OAT)(5 litres)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Engine 5 L; electric-drive transmission 2.4 L; high-voltage battery 4.4 L
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- MG3 MY16 handbook specifies 'DOT 4 (Low Viscosity)'; all later handbooks say DOT 4.
Fitted to: HS Plug-in Hybrid, EHS
1.5T Plug-in Hybrid (GS61H, second generation) · 2024–2026
- Engine oil
- C5 · API SP · 0W-20(2024 on · HS Plug-in Hybrid (second generation))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Same ACEA C5 / API SP 0W-20 instruction as the rest of the HS range handbook.
- Coolant
- Glycol (OAT)(7.6 litres)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Engine 7.6 L; drive-motor control module 7.2 L
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- MG3 MY16 handbook specifies 'DOT 4 (Low Viscosity)'; all later handbooks say DOT 4.
Fitted to: HS Plug-in Hybrid
MG Cyberster (electric) · 2024–2026
Fitted to: Cyberster
MG ZS EV (electric) · 2019–2025
Electric — no engine oil to change.
- Coolant
- Glycol (OAT)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- EV — no engine oil. MY19: power electronics/drive motor coolant 4.8 L, high-voltage battery 4.4 L. Facelift: electric drive transmission coolant 4.8 L, high-voltage battery 5.6 L.
Fitted to: ZS EV
MG4 EV (electric) · 2022–2026
Electric — no engine oil to change.
- Coolant
- Glycol (OAT)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- EV — no engine oil. 2022 handbook: high-voltage battery pack coolant 4.0 L, electric drive transmission coolant 5.6 L. 2026 handbook: battery 4.0 L; drive coolant 5.6 L (2WD) / 6.4 L (4WD). MG4 EV Urban handbook also says Glycol (OAT) but its capacity table did not extract cleanly.
Fitted to: MG4 EV, MG4 EV XPOWER, MG4 EV Urban
MG5 EV (electric) · 2020–2025
Electric — no engine oil to change.
- Coolant
- Glycol (OAT)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- EV — no engine oil. Long Range handbook: battery coolant 4.4 L (pack type 1) / 4.8 L (type 2); drive transmission coolant 4.2 / 4 L. 2022-12 handbook: battery 4.8 L, drive 4 L.
Fitted to: MG5 EV
MGS5 EV (electric) · 2025–2026
Fitted to: MGS5 EV
Manufacturer-published figures link to the maker's document. "Reported" figures come from a franchised dealer or a parts catalogue and have not been confirmed by the maker. Nothing here has been checked against your car — confirm with the handbook or a franchised dealer quoting the VIN.
Common questions
What oil does an MG take?
It depends on the engine. Across the 14 MG engines we hold, the approvals named are C3, C5, A5/B5, A1/B1, mostly in 0W-20, 5W-30, 5W-20. Find your engine above, or choose your engine above for the exact match.
How much oil does an MG take?
It depends on the engine; the figures we hold are listed above with their sources. The owner's handbook gives the oil-change capacity.
Where is the oil specification in an MG handbook?
Usually in the "Technical data", "Capacities and specifications" or "Engine oil" section near the back, which names the approval code and viscosity, and the oil-change capacity with filter. The figures above link to the handbooks we found them in.
Oil specification and capacity by make
- Alfa Romeo oil type and capacity
- Audi oil type and capacity
- Bentley oil type and capacity
- Citroën oil type and capacity
- Cupra oil type and capacity
- DS oil type and capacity
- Fiat oil type and capacity
- Ford oil type and capacity
- Honda oil type and capacity
- Hyundai oil type and capacity
- Jaguar oil type and capacity
- Jeep oil type and capacity
- Kia oil type and capacity
- Land Rover oil type and capacity
- Lexus oil type and capacity
- Mazda oil type and capacity
- Mercedes-Benz oil type and capacity
- Nissan oil type and capacity
- Opel oil type and capacity
- Peugeot oil type and capacity
- Porsche oil type and capacity
- SEAT oil type and capacity
- Skoda oil type and capacity
- Subaru oil type and capacity
- Suzuki oil type and capacity
- Toyota oil type and capacity
- Volkswagen oil type and capacity
- Volvo oil type and capacity
- All makes — what oil does my car need?
- Service schedule by make and engine
- What should my tyre pressure be?